Oregon Governor Kate Brown has signed into law a measure that raises the minimum age for purchasing tobacco and “inhalant delivery systems” to 21.

Governor Brown signed Senate Bill 754 into law yesterday, roughly a month after it was approved by the Hour of Representatives with a 39 to 20 vote, and the Senate with a 19 to 11 vote. The bill was introduced by Senator Elizabeth Steiner Hayward along with 15 bipartisan cosponsors.

The new law “Increases from 18 to 21 years old the minimum age to purchase tobacco and nicotine products”, as well as “inhalant delivery systems” (such as e-cigarettes) and establishes “a set of fines ranging from $250-$1,000 for individuals or businesses that distribute or sell” these products to “persons under 21 years of age.”

In addition, the measure “Modifies statutory definition of cigarettes to include inhalant devices and products not approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration”, and “Expands the types of facilities not permitted to allow a person under 21 years of age to possess tobacco or inhalant delivery systems when on facility grounds to include colleges, community colleges, universities, career schools and technical education schools.”

You can click here for the full text of Senate Bill 754.

MANTIS_RECOMMEND = {
property: ’53d026bdee55332b7d413198′,
render: ‘mantis__recommended__wordpress’
};

var z = document.createElement(“script”);
z.type = “text/javascript”;
z.async = true;
z.src = “//assets.mantisadnetwork.com/recommend.min.js”;
var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘head’)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(z, s);

The post Oregon Raises Age for Tobacco Products and “Inhalant Delivery Systems” to 21 appeared first on TheJointBlog.

Source: Joint Blog